World Gone Mad

There haven’t really been any changes to my project in the last few weeks. Everything is still going well, and I’m still on a fairly straight path. I know what I have to do to create my podcast, and so far nothing has greatly affected any of the steps I have to go through.

My project is laid out in six phases. The first phase was what we called the “Pre-Recording Items” Phase. This stage consisted of me working with another student, Liam, to learn how to set up and use Garageband and the microphone to record. I finished that about two weeks ago.

The second phase is where I am now. In this phase, I’ve adapted one of my short stories into a script, and got some feedback on it but didn’t spend a lot of time on it because the quality of the story I’m telling with this project isn’t important. It’s pretty much strictly a learning process. Now, I’m going to create a short podcast with some help from Liam and Maya. Once they’ve recorded the dialogue, I’m going to edit it into a full podcast. When I’m editing the podcast, I will have to break up the dialogue and piece it together so that the conversation makes sense and works well.

Phase three and four are going to be more iterations of phase two using different stories and voice actors. I’m going through this process three times because I want to have a good grasp of the editing and recording processes before I jump into my final project.

Phase five will be the creation of my final podcast.  This phase is going to work very similarly to the previous three phases, but is going to have a much bigger feedback component than the previous three because this time I need to make sure my story is good as well as the editing and recording of the podcast.

Phase six is a fairly short phase. All it requires me to do is export my podcast as an MP3 file and then upload it to Soundcloud which is where I’m currently planning to publish my final project.

Over the next few weeks, I’m going to be scripting as well as recording and editing my three smaller projects. I’m hoping that I will finish up these phases within the next four weeks because according to my timeline that I had to create last week, that is roughly when I should be done.

That being said, editing could take me a whole lot longer than I’m expecting. While I think I have some knowledge of editing because of the first phase of my project, that does not mean it will be smooth sailing. However, I’m trying to be hopeful that it will go well.

Leave a comment